Six Ekiti APC lawmakers defect to PDP as Fayose takes over

Governor Ayodele Fayose

Six members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the Ekiti House of Assembly defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Thursday just as the governor, Kayode Fayemi was leaving office.

They are Adeojo Ayodele (Ekiti South West II Constituency), Olowo Ajiboye (Oye II), Adeloye Adeyinka (Ikole I), Abeni Olayinka (Ado II), Fatunba Olajide (Moba II), and Olugbemi Joseph (Ikole II).

Until now, the APC had 25 of 26 members in the House while PDP had only one.

Mr. Fayemi, who is also a member of the APC, left office following the expiration of his four-year tenure.

The defection of the lawmakers, who were called to the podium, was announced as the new governor, Ayo Fayose was being sworn in.

In his inaugural speech, the new governor said the APC was dead and buried in Ekiti State.

Mr. Fayose governed the state between 2003 and 2006 on the platform of the PDP, which then dominated the House of Assembly.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.