Adamawa Election: Jibrilla wins APC primary

The approved APC logo, released early Wednesday morning
The approved APC logo, released early Wednesday morning

A serving Senator, Mohammed Jibrilla, who represents Adamawa State north senatorial district, has won the All Progressives Congress, APC, primary ahead of the state’s October 11 gubernatorial election.

Mr. Jibrilla emerged the winner at a primary conducted Sunday in Yola, the state capital.

He polled 2,718 votes to beat his closest challenger, Ibrahim Mijinyawa, who got 2,268 votes, the chairman of the election team, Talba Abari, who announced the results at the party’s secretariat, said.

Boss Mustapha, who came third, polled 515 votes, while Ahmed Barata, also a serving Senator representing Adamawa South, got 452 votes.

Yakubu Tsalla and Emmanuel Bello got 147 and 50 votes respectively, Mr. Abari.

The APC adopted a modified open ballot system in which party delegates across the 21 Local Government Areas voted for the candidate of their choice, after which the results were collated.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.