PDP defeats APC, wins Niger East senatorial by-election

logo pdp

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Sunday declared Shem Zagbai of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, winner of the Niger East Senatorial by-election after a re-run.

The August 30 by-election was declared inconclusive due to electoral malpractice in some polling units.

The re-run was held in polling units in Bosso, Chanchaga, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi and Shiroro local government areas on Saturday.

The returning Officer for the election, Morenikeji Olakonmi, who announced the results in Minna, said that Mr. Zagbai scored 92, 056 votes against David Umaru of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who polled 87, 405 votes.

He said Isa Bello of All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, and Abdulahi Diko of Social Democratic Party scored 2,185 and 419 votes respectively.

“We have come to the conclusion of the collation. I, Prof. Morenike Olakonmi, hereby certify that I was the Returning Officer for Niger East Senatorial District by-election held on the 6th day of September 2014.

“That Dr Shem Zagbai of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner,’’ he said.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.