FG inaugurates governing councils of 13 federal universities

Adamu Adamu - Minister of Education
Adamu Adamu - Minister of Education

The federal government has inaugurated the governing council of 13 federal universities.

The minister of education, Adamu Adamu, said this while Inaugurating the council members in Abuja on Monday.

The universities are Federal university Lokoja, Federal University; Lafia Nasarawa; Federal University, Kashere, Gombe; Federal university Wukari Taraba; Federal University Dutsin Ma, Katsina; Federal University Dutse Jigawa; Ndufu Alike Ebonyi; Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Federal University, Otuoke; Federal University, Birin Kebbi; Federal University Gusau; Federal University Zamfara; Federal University Gashua, Yobe; and Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo Benue.

The minister asked the governing boards to block loopholes and generate ideas that will increase the internally generated revenue of the universities.

He also tasked them to comply with the Federal Character Commission in the appointment of officers.

According to him, the major critical areas of challenge is inadequate funding as well judicious use available resources, so let me advise you to come up with new creative ways to improve funding in your institution.

“You will have to block the loopholes where the IGR slides away, I urge you to also comply and respect the rule of the Federal Character Commission in the appointment of your officers,” he said.

He said the visitation panels will be visiting the universities in the next weeks, “ the new council members to effectively cooperate with the panel so as to lay a good foundation.”

NUC speaks

Also speaking , the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission ( NUC), Adamu Rasheed, said the inauguration of the council members marks the beginning of a new phase in the introduction of first 12 specialised universities.

“The NUC is also inspired by the Map of 2018-2020 and it has been committed to revitalising Nigeria university education such as urgent fostering skills development and entrepreneur as well as addressing inadequacies in facilities,” Mr Adamu said.

Responding, the representative of the newly appointed chairmen, Funmi Togonu-Bickersteth, while pledging the best of services from the council members, said the members looked forward to cooperation from the Minister and the NUC specifically in the provision of useful information.

Among the newly appointed council chairmen is Nimi Briggs who chairs the governing council of Ndufo Alike University, Ebonyi State.

The federal government had earlier approved the dissolution of the governing councils of the University of Port Harcourt, and the Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko, in Delta State.

However, the education minister was silent regarding the dissolution of the maritime university.


PT Mag Campaign AD

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application