Lagos primary school holds elections to elect prefects

Collation of results and announcement of winners
Collation of results and announcement of winners

It was fun last week Thursday as M.D Nursery and Primary School, New Oko Oba, Lagos conducted elections to elect class captains and other school perfects.

The Head of School, Olushola Akaiso, said the era where teachers pick pupils to be in charge of positions has become outdated since the pupils needed to be involved in the process of selecting their leaders.

Mrs Akaiso said this will enable them hone their skills of public speaking, confidence and also teach them the ability to compete.

Mrs Akaiso said the tradition of getting pupils to select their leaders themselves started since the inception of the school.

She said there are processes that must be followed before a pupil is allowed to stand for election.

She said: “There is a nomination form, which they collect with the consent of their parents.

“They fill and submit it with their manifestoes.

“They do their campaigns.

“Some do fliers and banners and they move around the classes and assembly grounds canvassing for votes and support from their colleagues and there was a primary election and one must meet the academic requirement of at least 70 per cent to participate.”

Mrs Akaiso also said teachers try as much as possible not to be partisan in the “political process”.

A parent said even when the pupils campaign banners fall off, the teachers do not try to pick them up so as not to be seen as “being a fan to a particular candidate”.

The parent said although, the pupils are allowed to campaign, they are not allowed to do so with any form of inducements.

Those elected during Thursday’s election are:

Head Boy: Afolabi Busari
Assistant: Adejayan George

Head Girl: Success Ferdinand
Assistant is Yusra Usman


RIPAN Campaign AD

Social Prefect: Fatolu Nifemi
Assistant: Akomolafe Promise

Games Prefect:
Shoyinka-Shonola Tomiwa
Assistant: Olukunle-Akinola Oyinkansola

Health Prefect: Anjola Tinubu
Assistant: Akinmusire Sophie

Time Keeper: Fareedat Afolabi
Assistant: Ajayi Praise

Library Prefect: Akinoluwa Lasisi
Assistant Ifeoluwa Lawal

Dining Prefect: Obileye Temiloluwa
Assistant: Ogooluwa Adebayo

Sanitation Prefect: Adeigbe Togbami
Assistant: Ajala Folahan

Protocol 1: Tinuola Bewaji
Protocol 2: Okiki Omosebi
Protocol 3: Jesutomisin Yinka-Oke.

Akwa Ibom advertD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.