Reps postpone plenary till September

Members of the House of Reps
Members of the House of Reps

After the gale of defections that rocked the National Assembly on Tuesday, the House of Representative adjourned its plenary till September 25.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives made the announcement at the end of plenary on Tuesday.

This comes after about 37 members defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Action Democratic Congress (ADC).

Some of the members who dumped the APC include: Sani Rano, Barry Mpigi, Ali Madaki, Dickson Tackighir, Hassan Saleh, Danburam Nuhu, Mark Gbilah, Razak Atunwa, Ahmed Garba Bichi, Abdulsamad Dasuk and Zakari Mohammed.

Contrary to earlier speculations, Speaker Yakubu Dogara did not defect although there are insinuations that it is a matter of time before he makes his move.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.