FIFA announces pots for 2018 World Cup draw

FIFA headquarters
FIFA headquarters

The world football governing body, FIFA, has announced the pots for the 2018 World Cup.

The announcement was made on its website on Thursday.

Nigeria is placed in Pot 4, which means Nigeria will not play any of the countries in that pot.

Those countries are Serbia, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia.

Pot 1 has Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, and France.

Pot 2 has Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia. Mexico, Uruguay, and Croatia.

Pot 3 has Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, and Iran.

FIFA said it used the October 2017 edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking to allocate all qualified teams to the four pots after hosts Russia took the top seeding spot.

The Super Eagles qualified for the FIFA 2018 World Cup in Russia after beating Zambia 1-0 in Uyo.

The final draw will take place on December 1 at Moscow’s Kremlin Palace.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.