Nigeria to repatriate 18 ECOWAS citizens

Immigration officers [Photo Credit: The Guardian]
Immigration officers [Photo Credit: The Guardian]

Eighteen illegal immigrants arrested by officers of Nigeria Immigration Service, Ogun Command, at Akonu village, Bode Olude area, will soon be repatriated to their countries of origin.

The Public Relations Officer of the command, Olaniyi Mobolaji, made the announcement on Sunday in Abeokuta in a statement issued to newsmen.

He said that 10 of the 18 illegal immigrants were indigenes of Benin Republic while eight were Togolese.

He added that the illegal immigrants, who are being profiled, are residing and working illegally in Nigeria.

The spokesperson said the command received intelligence report on their activities based on the directive of the state comptroller, Ajibola Bayeroju.

He promised that the command would leave no stone unturned to flush out illegal immigrants residing in the state.



Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD:DIABETES Is CURABLE! Don't Let It Threaten You! To NORMALIZE Your Blood Sugar In 21Days For Life, Click Here!!!.

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • john

    The NIS should beam their searchlight more on the northern part of Nigeria.
    That is where there are more illegal migrant from Niger and Chad walking on the streets of Nigeria without Residence Permit.

  • thusspokez

    What is this nonsense about repatriating ECOWAS citizens?

    ECOWAS – Free Movement of Persons

    “In May 1979, ECOWAS member States adopted their first protocol relating to the Free Movement of Persons, Residence and Establishment.[1] It stipulated the right of ECOWAS citizens to enter, reside and establish economic activities in the territory of other member states and offers a three step roadmap of five years each to achieve freedom of movement of persons after fifteen years. The first phase regards the right of visa-free entry, phase two dealt with the right of residency, and phase three concerns the right of establishment in another member State. The first phase have been fully implemented. The second phase, the right of residency, has also been implemented, given that citizens had obtained an ECOWAS residence card or permit in fellow member State. The third phase, the right of establishment, is still under implementation in most member States.[2]

    To facilitate the free movement of people in the ECOWAS region, member States established a common passport, formally known as the ECOWAS travel certificate. The ECOWAS passport was introduced in December 2000 to exempt holders from intra-regional visa requirements and to function as an international travel document. “

    Source: unecaorg or United Nation Economic Commission for Africa