Nigeria inaugurates 24-member National Road Safety Advisory Council – – FULL LIST

Cross Section of members of the Federal Road Advisory Council inaugurated by Acting President Yemi Osinbajo on February 16, 2017 ... Photo Credit: FRSC Facebook Page

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has inaugurated a 24-member National Road Safety Advisory Council for the country.

The inauguration of the body was done at Thursday’s National Economic Council meeting attended by state governors, and presided over by Mr. Osinbajo.

The Minister of Budget and National Planning, Udoma Udo Udoma, had before the exercise made a presentation to the meeting on the National Road Safety Strategy (NRSS) 2014 – 2018 document.

Mr. Udoma said the NRSS document was approved by the Federal Executive Council.

The document, he said, provided for the establishment of the Advisory Council as a demonstration of government’s commitment to addressing the challenges of road safety in the country in line with United Nations agenda to reduce road accident related deaths.

Members of the 24-member Advisory Council include the following:

• Six Governors representing each geopolitical zone as follows:

• South-West – Governor of Lagos State

• South-East – Governor of Anambra State

• South-South – Governor of Delta State

• North-West – Governor of Kaduna

• North East – Governor of Gombe

• North-Central – Governor of Kwara State

Others include:

• Honourable Minister of Transport

• Honourable Minister of Power, Works and Housing

• Honourable Minister of Education

• Honourable Minister of Health

• Honourable Minister of Environment

• Honourable Minister of Finance

• Honourable Minister of Justice

• Honourable Minister of Labour and Productivity

• Honourable Minister of Interior

• Honourable Minister Federal Capital Territory (FCT)

• Honourable Minister of Information and Culture

• Honourable Minister of Budget and National Planning

• National Security Adviser (NSA)

• Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF)

• President, Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA)

• President Nigeria Society of Engineering (NSE)

• Corp Marshall, Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC)


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD:"Warning to Men, These 3 Foods is Slowly Killing Your Erection". Click Here to Know Them

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • thusspokez

    Nigeria inaugurates 24-member National Road Safety Advisory Council

    Why only stop at 24? Why not 36+1 or even 72+2?

    There seems to be very few Nigerian institutions and organisations that do not have built-in heavy bureaucracy and inefficiency in them — a recipe for failure. The Nigerian mentality is oriented towards consumption — which always end in greed, looting, theft, cronyism — rather than efficacious organisations for production and general good.

    What are the effing governors and effing ministers doing in road safety? Don’t they have their jobs busy enough? The EFCC has the same number of board members, which include the Governor of the Central Bank, among them. You wonder what the Governor of the Central Bank is doing in a law enforcement agency. When will Nigerians grow up and stop acting like a bunch of mumus with no clue how to run anything efficiently and effectively?