3 scientists share 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics

Nobel Prize medal

The Royal Academy of Sciences on Tuesday announced in Stockholm that the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics is shared by three scientists.

The prize was awarded for discoveries about strange forms of matter.

It said that the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 was divided, with one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz “for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter”.

The Academy announced that the prize amount is $930,000 would be split proportionally between the three winners.

One of the winners, Haldane, said he was “very surprised” at the news.

He said he was glad that their discoveries found something many previously overlooked, and that they unveiled more possibilities for looking for new materials.(Xinhua/NAN)


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD:DIABETES Is CURABLE! Don't Let It Threaten You! To NORMALIZE Your Blood Sugar In 21Days For Life, Click Here!!!.

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • Great One Mariam

    What? No African?