TMG elects Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi new chairman

Former TMG Chair Ziki Ibrahim presents new Chair Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi during the handover ceremony today

The Transition Monitoring Group, TMG, has elected Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi its new chairman.

Ms. Akiyode-Afolabi, the executive director of Women Advocates Research and Documentation Centre, will now head the coalition of 400 civil society organisations.

She was elected unopposed at the annual general meeting concluded on Saturday, a statement from the TMG said.

Ms. Akiyode-Afolabi succeeded Ibrahim Zikirullahi, the organisation’s chairman who stepped down after doing the maximum two-term in office.

Mr. Zikirullahi was first elected in 2012 and was re-elected in August 2014.

Other changes announced by the group included the election of 10 new board members for the organisation.

Armsfree Ajanaku, TMG’s spokesperson, said the individuals were pooled from different demographics to reflect the diversity of the country.

The development came two days after a High Court of the Federal Capital Territory quashed a preliminary objection by some members of the organisation who earlier this year announced the removal of Mr. Zikirullahi.

The judge, Adeniyi Ademola, dismissed an application seeking to stop the group from convening the annual general meeting, Mr. Ajanaku said.

Mr. Ajanaku listed the new board of the TMG as follows:

Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi of Women Advocates, Research and Documentation Centre, based in Lagos, Chair

Okeke Anya, Civil Society Legislative Action Centre based in the FCT, Vice Chair

Abdiel Kude, Global Community Prime Initiative, based in Kaduna State, Treasurer

Mustapha Mohammed, Democratic Action Group based in Kano, Representative for North West

Musa Adamu Abubakar, Bauchi Human Rights Network, based in Bauchi State, Representative for North East

Salifu Arome, Africa Youth Foundation, based in Kogi State, Representative for North Central

Nengi James, Niger Delta Development Monitoring Group, based in Bayelsa State, Representative for South South

Sulaimon Arigbabu, HEDA Resource Centre based in Lagos, Representative for South West

Okey Onyeka, Representative for the South East

Ekaete Judith Umoh, Joint National Association of Persons Living with Disabilities (JONAPWD) based in the FCT, Representative of People Living with Disabilities

Tijani Abdulkareem, Socio Economic Research Centre, based in the FCT, Representative for Youth

The new board will be inaugurated on August 22 at the TMG National Secretariat in Abuja, Mr. Ajanaku said.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.