Adamawa governor denies harassing PDP election panel

Bala Ngilari

The governor of Adamawa State, Bala Ngilari, has denied allegations of assault and abduction by the Chairman and members of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, House of Assembly primary election committee to the state.

In details reported by PREMIUM TIMES, the panel accused Mr. Ngilari, the suspended PDP state Chairman and Secretary, Joel Madiki, and Tahir Shehu, respectively, of harassing and abducting its members.

The panel said its members were held hostage for days while state agents, acting on the instructions of Mr. Ngilari, rigged in fake candidates.

But Mr. Ngilari, in a statement by his spokesperson, said “Bala Ngilari directed that the committee members to be taken to the Presidential lodge for security reason and not abduction as claimed in the petition”.

Mr. Elisha said “Governor Ngilari described the petition as unfortunate stressing that as chief security officer of the state and the leader of the party in Adamawa, he owes the committee a duty of care and protection while in the state”.
Meanwhile, results of the poll, which the election panel is disputing, shows that 15 out of 25 lawmakers, including the Speaker and former acting governor, Ahmadu Fintiri, failed to secure tickets for re-election.

The surprise entry for next year’s Adamawa state assembly seat election under the platform of the PDP are the following: Farouz Ayuba (Guyuk state constituency); Raymond Chidama (Uba-Gaya Constituency); Abdulrahman Dauda (Gombi Constituency); Bahoro A. Buba (Fufore/Gurin).

Others are Umar Abdulkareem (Nasarawo-Binyeri Constituency); David Edwin (Fufore/Verre); Adamu Mustapha (Yola South); Audu Buba Ngete (Shelleng Constituency); Francis Zira (Michika Constituency); Pwamaken Nakundo (Numan Constituency).

The list also has Emmanuel Isandu (Madagali Constiuency); Abubakar Girei ( Girei Constituency); Phillip Andrew ( Toungo Constituency); Jamilu Abubakar (Mayo-Belwa Constituency) and Justina Obadiah ( Lamurde Constituency) Usman Lamorde (Mubi South constituency), Belel Alfa Umar (Maiha Constituency).

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.