3 Ogun Senators decamp from APC to SDP

The three Senators representing the entire Ogun state have defected from the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the Social Democratic Party, SDP.

This was revealed by one of the Senators, Gbenga Kaka, at a press briefing in the National Assembly on Wednesday.

The three lawmakers are: Mr. Kaka, representing Ogun East, Odunsi Akin, representing Ogun West and Gbenga Obadara representing Ogun Central.

Mr. Kaka said “This is formerly to inform you and the general public that we, the three senators, Adegbenga Kaka, Akin Odunsi and Gbenga Obadara representing the entire Ogun state, have just delivered our letters to the leadership of the senate, notifying him of our resignation from APC and declaring for SDP.

“This was consequent upon the factionalisation in the party (APC in Ogun state) leading to the emergence of parallel executives from ward, LGA to state level.

“All our protest, appeal and demand for justice from the national leadership yielded no result. Rather, the faction that flagrantly flouted the party guidelines was given recognition by the national executive.

“We subsequently did not partake in the National Convention, as we rightly believe in the legal aphorism that you cannot build something on nothing and expect it to stand.

“We are therefore left with no option than to withdraw our membership from APC, after due consultations with our constituents”.

The speech was signed by the three Lawmakers representing Ogun state.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.