Jonathan reshuffles cabinet

Former President, Goodluck Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan has carried out a minor cabinet reshuffling of his cabinet following the resignation of seven ministers last week.

Seven ministers quit the cabinet to pursue their political ambitions.

They include the Minister Health, Onyebuchi Chukwu; Minister of State for Niger Delta, Darius Ishaqu; Minister of State for Trade and Investment Samuel Ortom; Minister of State for Education, Nyesom Wike; Ministers of Information, Labaran Maku; Labour, Emeka Wogu; Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

As part of the minor reshuffling, the Minister of State (2) for Foreign Affairs, Nurudeen Mohammad, will now supervise the Ministry of Information, while the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (1) Viola Onwuliri will now be Minister State of Education.

The Minister of Trade and Investment, Olusegun Aganga will now oversee the office of the minister of state for trade and investments.

The Minister of Special Duties, Kabiru Turaki, will now oversee the Ministry of Labour and Productivity, while the Minister of Niger delta will oversee the office of the Minster of State for Niger Delta.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

TEXT AD: This NAFDAC APPROVED Solution Will Make You Stay Longer Than 40Mins In Bed Tonight And Help Your Erection. Click Here To Read The Free Reports

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • akinapopo

    cabinet you have change is good but is this moves going to change the the economical and politcal instability please give us credible things that will move your followers

  • Jaja2015

    Victoria, you’re a liar and an ethnic bigot. Even Bloomberg reported that a mosque was burnt in Onitsha, yet you’re trying to deny it to malign Dr Ibrahim. Any ways, everyone’s eyes don open.

    • justice

      So what if a mosque was burnt in Onitsha? How many churches were and are being burnt daily in the north, you moron? Is that the only thing your pea brain could pick out from this discourse. No one is out to malign Dr Jibrin, he is doing a good job of that himself.

      • Scatter

        Everything is WRONG with burning a mosque in Onitsha or anywhere else. So, too, is everything WRONG with burning a church in the Nigerian north or anywhere else. Denialism serves no useful purpose. Your arrogant and insulting pitch does not elevate the conversation, nor the cause of peaceful co-existence.

    • FactsandFigures

      From the pictures I have seen so far, shop around the mosque was burnt but the mosque had some smoke damage(the structure is intact).

  • Lanre

    Victoria. Nice try. No need for you to genuflect. Address him as Jibrin Ibrahim. That is his name. As for your article, you Igbos are wasting your time arguing. I am Yoruba and I support Biafra. If a conflict was supposed to end 45 years ago and has not in the minds of people, what do you think will happen 45 years from now? Always better to say the truth. Nigeria is a failed state. Better to agree to go our separate ways drawn along the major ethnic configurations. We have enough conferences to achieve this including Aburi. Yorubaland will be free.

  • obinnna77

    The lack of empathy is simply exhausting. One read that Jibrin person’s article with disbelief. How dare he? For them, the presidency is the be all, and end all, and so it must be for everyone?
    Their supposed intelligentsia hold such wrong headed views? It is a pity. We are itinerant, we travel, we understand them entirely, but they are entirely clueless about us. They should travel some more. Make friends with some igbos, if they are able.