Ballon d’Or 2019 (LIVE UPDATES): Messi, Van Dijk, Ronaldo battle for top prize

Ballon d'Or 2019
Ballon d'Or 2019

All is now set for the Ballon d’Or 2019 awards as Lionel Messi, Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo are vying for the prestigious award.

There are 30 world-class players on the shortlist; including last year’s winner Luka Modric. But for many, it is actually a three-horse race.

Liverpool defender Van Dijk is in serious contention alongside two of the all-time greats in Messi and Ronaldo.

The 2019 Ballon d’Or gala is taking place in the Théâtre du Châtelet in the French capital and is set to start at 8.30 pm.

It is expected that the awards ceremony will culminate in the presentation of the men’s Ballon d’Or at approximately 9.50 p.m.

Stay with PREMIUM TIMES for Live Updates

Last year’s winner Luka Modric just arrived and greeted with cheers from the crowd, his Brazillian teammates Vinicius also in

The full shortlist

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
Dusan Tadic (Ajax)
Frenkie De Jong (Barcelona)
Sergio Aguero (Man City)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)
Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)
Donny van de Beek (Ajax)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
Bernardo Silva (Man City)
Heung-Min Son (Tottenham)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Riyad Mahrez (Man City)
Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)
Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Eden Hazard (Real Madrid)
Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain)
Raheem Sterling (Man City)
Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)

We are awaiting the top 10 now as the position of the other nominees have been revealed

11. Frenkie de Jong
12. Raheem Sterling
13. Eden Hazard
14. Kevin De Bruyne
15. Matthijs de Ligt
16. Sergio Aguero
17. Roberto Firmino
18. Antoine Griezmann
19. Trent Alexander-Arnold
20. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
20. Dusan Tadic
23. Hugo Lloris
24. Marc-Andre Ter Stegen
24. Kalidou Koulibaly

26. Karim Benzema
26. Georginio Wijnaldum

28. Joao Felix
28. Marquinhos
28. Donny van de Beek

In all, there are four awards up for grabs tonight.

The Men’s Ballon d’Or
The Women’s Ballon d’Or
The Kopa Trophy, awarded to the world’s best under-21 player
The Yashin Trophy, given to the year’s best men’s goalkeeper

Manchester City star Riyad Mahrez has been voted 10th while his team-mate, Bernardo Silva, is ninth. Robert Lewandowski finishes eighth.

The Brazilian is also the first non-European to win the Golden Glove in the EPL

Congratulations to the first winner of the Yaccine Trophy ever!

We are approaching the top…

Alisson in 7th Mbappe 6th , Mo Salah 5th,

The Women’s Ballon d’Or is next

Here are the final five candidates in this year’s Ballon d’Or…

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

The moment is here..

Coronavirus factsheet


PT Mag Campaign AD

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application