LIVE UPDATES: Nigeria’s Rep. members elect new Speaker, Deputy

The House of Representative in Chamber ... members are notorious for budget mutilation
The House of Representative in Chamber ... members are notorious for budget mutilation

All is now set for members-elect of the 9th House of Representatives to elect presiding officers to pilot their affairs for the next four years.

A total of 360 members are expected to cast their votes for their most preferred candidate.

The race for the speakership would be a straight fight between former house leader Femi Gbajabiamila (Lagos, APC) and Umar Bago (Niger, APC).

There is however another aspirant, John Dyegh (Benue, APC) who has vowed not to step down from the race.

Mr Gbajabiamila enjoys the support of most members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which initially declared him as the most preferred candidate.

On the other hand, Mr Bago enjoys the backing of majority of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members led by the former speaker, Yakubu Dogara.

So far, only one candidate, Idris Wase has declared interest for the deputy speakership.

Mr Wase was initially running for the speakership position but decided to step down and run for the deputy position on the same ticket with Mr Gbajabiamila.

The APC, however, has a majority of members, closely followed by the PDP. The gap between the two parties is about 40 members.

Other political parties with representation in the house include the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), People’s Redemption Party (PRP), Labour Party (LP), Action Alliance (AA), Action Democratic Congress (ADC) and Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Follow this page as PREMIUM TIMES brings to you live updates as events unfold at the green chamber.

Gbajabiamila storms House of Reps

9:57am – John Dyegh, another aspirant for the office of the Speaker has just arrived the National Assembly

9:57am – Umar Bago, one of the fore runners for the office of the speaker arrives the National Assembly

APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, arrives House of Representatives chamber after the election of Senate president and deputy. The process will commence as soon as the clerk of the house arrives.

2:34pm – Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Omolori, arrives the House of Representatives chamber to kickstart the process.

2:37pm – Clerk of the National Assembly reads the proclamation by President Muhammadu Buhari.

2:38pm – Clerk of the House of Representatives, Patrick Giwa, takes the roll-call oif the members-elect before the commencement of nominations.

3:09 – Roll call ends. Abdulmumin Jibrin stands up to nominate Femi Gbajabiamila for the position of speaker.

“I rise to nominate a man who rose to become minority leader of this hallowed chamber and subsequently became the majority leader.”

“Only he has this credentials in the length and breath of this country,” he said.

3:18 – Femi Gbajabiamila accepts nomination. He stands by the speech of Abdulmumin Jibrin.

3:16pm – Linda Ikpeazu seconds the nomination of Femi Gbajabiamila.

“I rise as a proud member of the PDP to second the nomination.”

3:20pm — Abubakar Ahmad (Gombe, APC) nominates Umar Bago for speaker of the House of Representatives. He is being seconded by Mark Gbilah (Benue, PDP).

3:28pm – Umar Bago rises to accept the nomination.

“I accept this nomination from my colleagues and I so accept.”

“This aspiration is guided by the constitutional provisions of this country that power should reflect federal character.”

3:35 – Voting between two candidates, Umar Bago and Femi Gbajabiamila begins

3:47 – Pandemonium as lawmakers protest against colleagues who display ed their ballot papers. The Clerk of the National Assembly has called the lawmakers to order.

5:29pm – Voting has ended, sorting and counting underway. Clerk of the National Assembly has called on the agents to step forward

JUST IN: Gbajabiamila poised for victory

From all indications, former house leader, Femi Gbajabiamila, will be announced as speaker of the 9th House of Representatives.

During the sorting, Mr Gbajabiamila was able to garner the majority of votes to defeat his closest rival, Umar Bago.

Counting is ongoing.

5:59pm – Counting has commenced.

Umar Bago – 76
Femi Gbajabiamila – 282

6:21pm – Deputy Speakership election about to commence.

Sada Soli from Katsina State has nominated Idris Wase for the office of deputy speaker.

The nomination has been seconded by Onofiok Luke from Akwa-Ibom State.

BREAKING: Wase declared speaker unopposed

Ahmed Wase from Plateau State has been declared Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Mr Wase emerged unopposed after he was nominated for the office by Sada Soli from Katsina State.

He is the All Progressives Congress (APC) most preferred candidate for the office.

He campaigned on a joint ticket with the new speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Coronavirus Quiz:

Coronavirus factsheet


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.