15 APC senators dump party (FULL LIST)

Nigerian Senate
The Chamber of the Nigerian Senate

Fourteen senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday defected from their party to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The senators in a joint letter to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, made their intention known.

The letter reads:

Dear Senate President,

After due consultation, with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituency, in proper recognition section 16 (1G) of the 1999 constitution, and for the fact of our party, The All Progressives Congress, we hereby inform the Senate that we the undersigned;


1. Dino Melaye

2. Barnabas Gemade

3. Ibrahim Danbaba

4. Shaaba Lafiaji

5. Mohammed Shitu

6. Rafiu Ibrahim

7. Suleiman Hunkuyi

8. Isa Misau

9. Monsurat Sunmonu

10. Soji Akanbi

11. Usman Nafada

12. Musa Kwankwaso

13. Suleiman Nazif

14. Lanre Tejuosho

We hereby inform you that we are changing our political affiliation from APC to PDP. We thank you for your exemplary leadership.

In a follow-up announcement, Mr Saraki said another senator, Abdulazaz Nyako, has also announced his defection.

Ms. Sumonu, who represents Oyo State, later told PREMIUM TIMES she left the APC for the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and not the PDP.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.