Buhari nominates 27 INEC Electoral Commissioners (FULL LIST)

Nigerian Senate Chambers
Nigerian Senate Chamber used to illustrate the story.

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated 27 persons as Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs, of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Senate President Bukola Saraki on Thursday read a letter from the presidency requesting the confirmation of the 27 nominees in compliance with the provision of the section 14(3)(a) of the Third Schedule to the 1999 Constitution.

The letter, seen by PREMIUM TIMES, was dated February 27 and signed by Vice-president Yemi Osinbajo at the time he was acting on President Muhammadu Buhari’s behalf.

But the letter was at the office of Mr. Saraki on Tuesday, February 21.

Since March 4, 33 states have been without RECs, who head the operations of the Independent National Electoral Commission at sub-national units, the commission confirmed.

Therefore, even when the 27 nominees are confirmed, six states will still not have RECs.

Below is the full list of 27 nominees and their states.

1. Godswill Obioma, Abia (new appointment);

2. Ibrahim Abdullahi, Adamawa (new appointment);

3. Ahmed Makama, Bauchi (reappointment);

4. James Apam, Benue (new appointment);

5. Mike Igini, Delta (reappointment);

6. Nwachukwu Orji, Ebonyi (new appointment);

7. Iloh Chuks, Enugu (new appointment);

8. Hussaini Pai, FCT (reappointment);

9. Sadiq Musa, Kaduna (reappointment);

10. Jibrin Zarewa, Kano (reappointment);

11. Asmau Maikudi, Katsina (new appointment);

12. Mahmuda Isah Kebbi (new appointment);

13. Samuel Egwu, Kogi (new appointment)

14. Rufus Akeju, Lagos (reappointment);

15. Mustapha Zubairu, Niger (new appointment);

16. Agboke Olaleke, Ogun (new appointment);

17. Sam Olumekun, Ondo (reappointment);

18. Abdulganiyu Raji, Oyo (new appointment);

19. Riskuwa Shehu, Sokoto (new appointment);

20. Kasim Geidam, Yobe (reappointment);

21. Bello Mahmud, Zamfara (new appointment);

22. Nentawe Yilwada, Plateau (new appointment);

23. Umar Ibrahim, Taraba (new appointment);

24. Emeka Joseph, Imo (new appointment);

25. Obo Effanga, Cross River (new appointment);

26. Francis Ezeonu, Anambra (new appointment); and

27. Briyai Frankland, Bayelsa (new appointment).

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.