39 APC senators signed letter removing Ndume as Senate Leader (FULL LIST)

Thirty-nine All Progressives Congress Senators signed the letter demanding the replacement of Ali Ndume with Ahmed Lawan as the Senate Leader, PREMIUM TIMES learnt.

The ruling party has 63 members in the 109-member Senate.

The letter – with list of those who appended their signatures – was captured in the Senate’s votes and proceedings of Tuesday, approved on Wednesday.

The letter titled ‘Notice of Vote of No Confidence/Change of Leadership’ was read by Senate President Bukola Saraki shortly before the Senate adjourned on Tuesday.

Ali Ndume

Mr. Ndume, who said he was removed because his disagreement with Mr. Saraki over the confirmation of Ibrahim Magu as the chairman of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, said the letter sacking him was read while he was out of the chamber to observe afternoon prayer.

The Borno lawmaker has since accepted his exit and thanked his colleagues for giving him the opportunity to lead them.

The ruling APC has also commended Mr. Ndume while supporting the emergence of Mr. Lawan.

On Wednesday, Senate President Bukola Saraki told reporters after meeting President Muhammadu Buhari that there was no crisis in the Senate despite Mr. Ndume’s removal.

“Everything is calm, solid and fine,” he said.

See the full list of the APC Senators who endorsed Mr. Ndume’s removal below

Full List:

  1. Dino Melaye, Kogi West;
  2. Ibrahim Abdullahi, Sokoto South;
  3. Francis Alimikhena, Edo Central;
  4. Suleiman Nazif, Bauchi North;
  5. Donald Alasoadura, Ondo Central;
  6. Benjamin Uwajumogu, Imo North;
  7. Mustapha Bukar, Katsina North;
  8. Rafiu Adebayo, Kwara South;
  9. Jibrin Barau, Kano North;
  10. Baba Garbai, Borno Central;
  11. Usman Nafada, Gombe North;
  12. Kabiru Marafa, Zamfara Central;
  13. Olugbenga Ashafa, Lagos East;
  14. Tijjani Kaura, Zamfara North;
  15. Suleiman Hunkuyi, Kaduna North;
  16. Ubali Shittu, Jigawa Northeast;
  17. Shehu Sani, Kaduna Central;
  18. Magnus Abe, Rivers Southeast
  19. Aliyu Abdullahi, Niger North;
  20. Umaru Kurfi, Katsina Central
  21. Abubakar Yusuf, Taraba Central;
  22. Joshua Dariye, Plateau Central;
  23. Ibrahim Gobir, Sokoto North;
  24. Shaba Lafiagi, Kwara South;
  25. Isa Misau, Bauchi Central
  26. Babajide Omoworare, Osun East
  27. Yahaya Abdullahi, Kebbi North;
  28. Kabiru Gaya, Kano South;
  29. Ali Wakili, Bauchi South
  30. Ahmed Yarima, Zamfara West;
  31. Sabo Mohammed, Jigawa Southwest;
  32. Ahmed Lawan, Yobe North;
  33. Olarenwaju Tejuoso, Ogun Central;
  34. David Umaru, Niger South;
  35. Abdullahi Gumel, Jigawa Northwest
  36. Monsurat Sunmonu,  Oyo Central;
  37. Binta Masi, Adamawa North;
  38. Danjuma Goje, Gombe Central; and
  39. Rabiu Kwankwaso, Kano Central.


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.