Babalakin, Saraki, 14 others to represent Nigerian govt in negotiation with ASUU, SSANU others

FROM LEFT: Resource Person, Mr Ahmad Yakasai; Member, Board of Trustees, Academic Staff Union of Universities (Asuu), Mr Sule Kaino, and ASUU President, Mr Nasiru Isah, during a News Conference on Planned ASUU strike in Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a 16-member committee, headed by Wale Babalakin, to renegotiate the 2009 Federal Government agreement with the staff unions in the federal universities, polytechnics and colleges of education.

This was disclosed in a statement issued by the Director of Press, Ihuoma Chinenye, of the Federal Ministry of Education on Friday in Abuja.

According to the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, the President constituted this team with a view to engendering sustainable peace and industrial harmony in tertiary institutions.

“The 16-member team is chaired by Dr. Wale Babalakin, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria.

“Babalakin, who was adjudged the best pro-chancellor at the time of the negotiations in 2009, headed the agreement implementation committee then,” Mr. Adamu added.

Other members of the team are M.M. Jibril, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lafia; Nimi Briggs, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lokoja.

Also in the team are Gbemisola Saraki, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke; Lawrence Ngbale, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Birnin Kebbi; Alex Mbata, Pro-Chancellor, Imo State University, Owerri; Olufemi Bamiro, Pro-Chancellor, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun.

Others are representatives of the Federal Ministries of Education; Labour and Employment; Finance; Justice; Budget and National Planning; the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission; and the Office of the Secretary to the
Government of the Federation.

He said that the re-negotiation team would dialogue with the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) and the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU).

Others to dialogue with include National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT) and Non Academic Staff Union of Associated and Allied Institutions (NASU).

President Buhari has also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of University of Port Harcourt and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife respectively.

The councils were dissolved in the wake of the recent crises that engulfed the two institutions.

He said that the new governing councils would serve for a term of four years, in the first instance, with effect from December 28, 2016.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: Revealed!!! The Only Way Left of Getting an Extra Large Manhood and also Last Up to 38Mins+. Get the Insider Secret Here

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.

  • Black Pope

    Good and proactive move

  • ceedog

    No, no, no! Look I am a peace-loving person, a peace-loving Nigerian. I always want peace in my country, no matter what.
    I have never agreed before now that “only a bloody revolution can save Nigeria” but this morning when I woke up

    I was shocked to hear myself saying “only a bloody revolution can save Nigeria”. It was strange. I was shocked.

    That was even before I read the story that of all the decent, knowledgable and honest Nigerians in a country of 180m
    people, President Buhari picked Wale Babalakin to represent the federal government of Nigeria to negotiate with
    academic and non-academic staff of Nigerians. After I read that story I muttered again “only a bloody revolution
    can save Nigeria”.

    To the best of my memory this same Wale Babalakin is facing criminal trial for moneylaundering James Ibori’s funds to Mauritius for hiding. How could such criminal credentials appeal to a honest person, if President were himself honest,
    and not just a fake Messiah?

  • SAM .A

    Nigeria political leaders are the most unserious bunch of human being on the surface of Earth , all they enjoy is being in the news for news sake , they are never committed to anything , no continuity in there dictionary . What happened to the negotiation the FG had with ASUU under President Jonathan ? How far have you gone implementing it ? To have Babalakin , the contractor who mismanage the Lagos Ibadan express road , and Saraki who has a case before CCT , and his hidden account with Panama episode , operating foreign account against the law of the Land [ a criminal ]as representing government tell the whole world that this is another talk show. Is PMB not having men of integrity other ,than these recycled worn out geriatrics with no fresh ideas ?

    • AGA

      You are moron! re-negotiate in order to reflect reality, based on the economic situation of the country. Secondly Jonathan administration signed agreement that cannot be easily implemented, based on the fact that, issues of funding were not realistic. Thirdly, SAKARI, not the one who has case before CCT, its Gbemisola Saraki.

      • SAM .A

        “Thirdly, SAKARI, not the one who has case before CCT, its Gbemisola Saraki.” You must be a notorious liar and an imbecile , who can not retain a single word and event in his impervious saw dust filled skull. How manY times had Bukola Saraki stood in a cage before Justice Dalandi Umar , sorry u saw Gbemisola abi , that is what saw dust does for cerebral palsy fools like u , they hallucinate sometimes .

      • SAM .A

        Mumu , deaf and dumb , did you see Gbemisola Saraki arraigned before Justice Danladi Umar of Abuja CCT or Bukola Saraki ? He not SHE was in the box more than 4 times . yet your sawdust brain didn’t video capture that . You are one of the imbeciles calling black white . I can’t waste my time reading threads from buffoon . you are looking for cheap popularity here .

  • Dazmillion

    Is this not the same Wale Babalakin that had a serious fraud case that was swept under the carpet?