Senate, House of Reps elect new leaders — LIVE UPDATES

Members of the National Assembly will Tuesday elect the principal officers who will take charge of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

In the Senate, the major battle for the position of Senate President is between Ahmed lawan (Yobe North) and Bukola Saraki (Kwara Central).

Mr. Lawan is the preferred candidate of his party, the All Progressives Congress, APC, while Mr. Saraki has the support of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

In the House of Representatives, it is also a direct battle between Femi Gbajabiamila (Surelere, Lagos) and Yakubu Dogora (Tafawa Balewa/ Bogoro, Bauchi).

Mr. Gbajabiamila has been adopted by the APC as well, while PDP has directed its members to vote Mr. Dogara into office.

The die is cast between the two leading parties.

Our reporters are at the two chambers and will provide live updates of the proceedings there.



NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.