APC snatches Senate majority, ends PDP’s 16-year rule

Senate chamber
Senate chamber

After 16 years of majority power in Nigeria’s two houses of parliament, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has finally lost the Senate to the now ruling party-elect, the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The APC secured 60 seats out of 109, according to PREMIUM TIMES’ tally, based on results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

At Saturday’s National Assembly elections, the PDP swept through the South East, taking all 15 senatorial seats, and all but two of South South’s 18 seats.

If the PDP wins the Edo State’s South Senatorial district, which is yet undecided, the party will take 17 seats in the South South.

But the two big wins are a far cry from the party’s bleak national performance in the Senate.

Elsewhere – North Central, North West, North East and South West – the APC, whose presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari, won Tuesday, took a sweeping lead.

In the South West, the APC won 13 out of 18 seats. The party lost Ekiti’s three seats to the PDP, and lost one seat apiece in Ondo and Ogun States.

In the North West, the PDP managed to secure a single seat in Kaduna, leaving the APC with the outstanding 20, the biggest regional win for the party.

In the North East, the PDP won all in Taraba and snatched a seat in Yobe. The APC took the remaining 13.

In the North Central, the PDP took Plateau, and picked one seat each from Benue and Nasarawa States.

The spread gives the APC the majority power with at least 60 seats, the first time the PDP has been edged out of federal legislative leadership since the end of military rule in 1999.

The closest the PDP came to losing its majority lead, was after a series of defections to the APC in the House of Representatives, between 2014 and 2015.

Results of Saturday’s elections also show that the APC has won the majority in the House, this time, not through defections.

With the APC’s win, the biggest political casualty in the Senate would be David Mark, who has spent eight years as president of the Senate.

After the National Assembly’s inauguration in June, Mr. Mark’s best bet will be the Minority Leader post.


RIPAN Campaign AD

The APC, on the other hand, will produce the President of the Senate, Deputy President, Majority Leader and Chief Whip.

Notwithstanding its lead, the APC currently lacks a two-third majority (73), needed for key decisions. The party will count on the PDP as it stands.

Akwa Ibom advertD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.