Nigeria 2015: Finally, Jonathan announces plans for re-election, names declaration committee

President Goodluck Jonathan has said he will pick his nomination form on or before the expiration of the deadline given to all aspirants, by the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

He stated his decision at a private meeting with governors held at the House 7 wing of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

An official source, who was privy to the meeting said the president thanked the governors for endorsing him and said he has finally made up his mind to take the baton of expression.

The source who spoke on condition of anonymity said the president has already set up his Presidential Declaration Committee and will pick his form on his return from Israel.

The leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, had on Wednesday directed the president and other aspirants to pick their forms for nomination and expression of interest on or before October 30 or risk not participating in the 2015 general elections.

Mr. Jonathan is to formally declare his presidential ambition between November 7 and 15, a decision which will be taken by his re-election committee, his associates said.

Members of the Presidential Declaration Committee include Bello Halliru Mohammed ‎(Chairman) from Kebbi, Ken Namani (Deputy Chairman), Enugu, Anyim Pius Anyim (Secretary), Ebonyi, Rufa’i Ahmed Alkali (member), Gombe, Julius Imagwe – SSA – Youth – (member), Edo, Baraka Sani (SSA -NSAP) – Kano,(member).

Governors were also selected to represent zones; they include Liyel Imoke, Cross River (South South), Theodore Orji, Abia (South East), Olusegun Mimiko, Ondo (South West), Mua’zu Babangida Aliyu Niger (North Central), Ibrahim Shema, Katsina (North West) and Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe (North East).

The representatives at the National Assembly include Hosea Agbola, (Oyo), Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna), Bitrus Kaze (Plateau) and Salmas Badru (Ogun).

Representatives of the Federal Executive Council include; Minister of Petroleum Resources, Dieziani Allison-Madueke ‎(Bayelsa), Minister of Police Affairs, Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Women Affairs, Hajiya Zainab Maina (Adamawa), Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).

Representatives of the PDP include; Deputy National Chairman, Uche Secondus‎ (Rivers), Benue State Chapter Chairman, Emmanuel Egbo, (Benue) National Women Leader, Kema Chikwe (Imo) and North West Zonal Chairman, Ibrahim Kazaure (Jigawa).

Other party members include: Stella Omu (Delta), Walid Jibirn (BOT Secretary, (Nasarawa), Ibrahim Bunu (Borno), Jolly Nyame (Taraba), Aneitie Okon (Akwa Ibom), Peter Obi (Anambra), Remi Adiuku Bakare (Lagos), and A. B. Mamman (PDP National Youth Leader) – FCT.

Others appointed at Presidential discretion include: Halima Alfa (Kogi), Nigeria Ambassador to Netherland, Nimota Nihinlola Akanbi (Kwara), FCT ALGON Chairman, Micah Yohanna Jiba ‎(FCT) and Sam Ikon (Akwa Ibom).

A Summary of members representing the zones include, south south (6), south east (5), south west (5), FCT (1), North West (5), North East (6) and North Central (6).

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.