Borno govt dissolves LG caretaker committees

Borno state on map used to illustrate the story
Borno state on map used to illustrate the story

The Borno state government says that the caretakers’ tenures have come to an end

The Borno government has announced the dissolution of its 27 Local Government caretaker committees after the expiry of their tenure.

Babakaka Garbai, the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, announced the dissolution in a statement issued in Maiduguri on Monday.
He said the dissolution was approved by the governor in line with the Local Government laws of the state.
“Governor Kashim Shettima has approved the dissolution of the 27 caretaker committees for all the 27 Local Government in the state.
“The action followed the expiration of the six months tenure of the committees as enshrined in the Local Government Act 2000 of the state,” he said.
Mr. Garbai said the dissolution would take effect from August 14, 2012 and urged all chairmen of the committees to hand over the affairs of the councils to local government secretaries.


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.