Zakariu Biu dismissed from police, seven new DIGs appointed

The Police Service Commission on Wednesday announced the dismissal of Zakari Biu from the police. Biu, until Wednesday, was a commissioner of police.

The decision to dismissed Mr. Biu, in whose care Kabiru Sokoto, the suspected bomber said to have masterminded the bombing of St. Theresa Catholic Church, Madala, Niger State in which 42 people were confirmed dead, was taken at the meeting of the Commission which was held in Abuja today.

A statement signed by  Mr. Ferdinand U. Ekpe on behalf of the chairman of the commission, Mr. Parry  Osayande, said the decision to dismiss Mr. Biu was as a result of his culpability in the escape of Sokoto.

The statement also announced the promotion of seven police officers to the rank of deputy inspector general of police.

Also, 13 officers were elevated to the rank of assistant general of police, while the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crime Commission, Mr. Ibrahim Lamorde was also promoted to the rank of deputy commissioner of police.

Here is the statement:

The Police Service Commission during its 26th Plenary Meeting held on the 22nd of February, 2012, and in exercise of its constitutional mandate, deliberated on a wide range of issues.  The meeting which was presided over by Mr. Parry B.O. Osayande, DIG (Rtd), CFR, OFR, NPM. mni, Chairman of the Commission, took far-reaching decisions aimed at repositioning the Nigeria Police Force for effective service delivery to the Nigerian Nation.

The Police Service Commission, after due consideration of the role played by Commissioner of Police, Hassan Zakari Biu, in the escape of the Boko Haram suspect, Kabiru Sokoto, today 22nd February, 2012 approved the dismissal of Mr. Hassan Zakari Biu  from the Nigeria Police Force with effect from February 22, 2012.

 3.    Also the Commission approved the appointment of seven (7) Deputy Inspectors General of Police.  They are:

1)     Suleiman Dauda Fakai

2)     Atiku Yusufu Kafur     

3)     Emmanuel Kachi Udeoji

4)     Haruna John

5)     Peter Yisa Gana

6)     Marvel Akpoyibo

7)     Abdurahaman Olajide Akano Osun – iragbiji


Also the Commission confirmed the promotion of thirteen (13) Commissioners of Police to Assistant Inspectors General of Police. 

They are:

Solomon E. Olusegun,

Michael E. Zuokumor
Orubebe Gandhi Ebikeme
Philemon I. Leha
Jonathan Johnson
Dan’azumi Job Doma
Joseph Ibi, Muktari Ibrahim
Suleiman A. Abba
Mamman Ibrahim Tsafe
Saliu Argungu Hashimu
Solomon E. Arase
David O. Omojola



Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.