Ebola: South Africa bans travellers from Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone

South Africa has banned travellers from Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone, the three West African nations worst-hit by Ebola outbreak.

The disease, which has also spread to Nigeria, has killed at least more than 1,000 people in its worst outbreak ever. Five people have died in Nigeria after a Liberian man took the virus here.

South Africa said on Thursday that it would only allow its own citizens from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone over fears of the virus, Reuters reported Thursday.

People travelling from Nigeria and other countries will also be allowed entry into South Africa, a government statement was quoted as saying.

South Africa is only the latest in a list of countries to have restricted access to the country, following Kenya, Seychelles and others.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.