Abuja administration converts agencies to departments

Bala Mohammed, FCT Minister

The heads of the four affected agencies would, henceforth, be known as directors.


The Abuja Administration on Tuesday converted four agencies to departments, due to lack of appropriate laws to back up their operations.

This is contained in a statement issued by the Chief Press Secretary to the Abuja Minister, Muhammad Sule, in Abuja.

Mr. Sule said the conversion is a follow-up to the directive of the Abuja Executive Committee last month.

He listed the affected agencies as Agency for Mass Education, Science and Technology, FCT Emergency Management Agency and Satellite
Towns Development Agency.

He said that the reversal of these agencies was contained in a circular signed by the Abuja Permanent Secretary, John Chukwu.

According to Mr. Sule, all the heads of the affected agencies would, henceforth, be known as directors.

He said that those heading various departments under the affected agencies would operate as Heads of Divisions.

The new arrangement, according to Mr. Sule, will continue until the National Assembly enacts appropriate laws backing the establishment of
such departments.



Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.