Nigerian Senate confirms ministerial nominees

Nigerian Senate: Strengthening the law against rape

The president withdrew one nominee.

The Senate has confirmed 11 out of a dozen ministerial nominees forwarded to it by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The nominees were sent to the Senate on January 20.

Those confirmed include Akon Eyakenyi, Musiliu Obanikoro, Aminu Wali, Mohammed Wakil, Lawrencia Mallam, and Aliyu Gusau.

Others are Adewale Adesiyan, T.W. Danagogo, Asabe Ahmed, Boni Haruna, and Khaliru Alhassan.

One nominee Jamila Salik from Kano State, was, however, not confirmed. Ms. Salik’s nomination was withdrawn by the presidency.

Okowa Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.