5 African countries form Sahel G5

Countries are Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Chad,

Five countries from Africa’s Sahel region: Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Chad, have agreed to create a regional institutional coordination platform, Sahel G5.

The Africa Sahel region lies along the southern edge of the Sahara desert.

The leaders of the countries at the end of their summit on Monday in the Mauritanian capital, Nouakchott, agreed in the final communique that the institution would begin its activities by setting up a permanent secretariat charged with the responsibility of technical coordination.

The five states reaffirmed their determination to preserve territorial integrity of member states, and work together to guarantee security in the Sahel zone. They agreed to prioritise security and development in the region, while reiterating their commitment to democracy, protection of human rights and promotion of good governance.

The five leaders also appealed to their technical and financial partners to support their actions to promote peace and prosperity in the region.

The Mauritanian President, Mohamed Aziz, was chosen as chairman of the Conference of Presidents of the member states of Sahel G5.

The next conference will be held in Chad.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.