Kano Assembly speaker resigns, opts to remain in PDP

Rabiu Kwankwaso , Governor of kano state

APC is now the majority in the House

Following the defection of 27 members of the Kano State House of Assembly from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to the All Progressives Congress, APC, on Monday, the Speaker of the House, Gambo Sallau, has resigned.

Mr. Sallau, who chose to remain in PDP, resigned because his party, PDP was no longer the majority.

APC now forms the majority in the House with 33 of the 40 members of the House; while PDP has seven.

The state governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso, in November 2013, decamped to APC from PDP. His decampment generated uproar in Kano as his predecessor, Ibrahim Shekarau, faulted APC for making Mr. Kwankwaso the default leader of the party in the state. This led to Mr. Shekarau’s defection to PDP along with his followers.

Meanwhile, the deputy speaker, Isyaku Danja, is now the new Speaker. Mr. Danja was one of those who decamped to the APC.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.