APC appoints leaders for Kano chapter

Rabiu Kwankwaso, Governor of Kano State

The slots were shared among the aligning parties

The Kano State chapter of the All Progressive Party, APC, has chosen a former deputy governor of the state and gubernatorial candidate of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, in the 2011 election, Abdullahi Gwarzo, as the chairman of the party’s harmonization committee.

Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso who disclosed this shortly after a meeting of leaders of the party at the Government House, Kano, on Friday, added that Adamu Sumaila, the erstwhile Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the state was chosen as secretary.

Others selected, according to the governor, were Maryam Kofar Mata as Women Leader; Salisu Abba, Treasurer; Murtala Sule Garo, Organising Secretary; and Rabiu Bako as Youth Leader.

Mr. Kwankwaso also stated that the committee has as Publicity Secretary, Bashir Karaye; Deputy Secretary, Abbas Sani; while Sa’ad Hassan will serve as ex-officio.

The governor said the committee members were selected from the four merging parties, revealing that three were decampee ex-Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, members, and two each from the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP, Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, and Congress for Progressive Change, CPC.

Mr. Kwankwaso also explained that based on APC’s manifesto, he was supposed to choose five persons from the PDP members who defected with him to his new party, the ANPP would produce two, while ACN and APC were to have one member each. The governor decamped to the APC from the PDP.

He, however, noted that the PDP decided to forfeit its two slots to ACN and CPC, as well as the chairmanship, in order to have harmony and justice in the party. He appealed to followers to register their names with the party as soon as the registration exercise scheduled for February 5 commences.

He assured the people that the party membership cards would be available at each ward in the state.

Responding, the chairman of the Committee, Mr. Gwarzo, thanked the party chieftains for choosing him to lead the party, assuring that the committee would do everything possible to ensure the party’s progress in the state.

Some of the APC leaders who attended the meeting included a former Minister, Musa Gwadabe, and a former deputy governor of the state, Magaji Abdullahi.

Others were the CPC governorship candidate in the 2011 election, Jafaru Isa, as well as Sule Hamma, Kawu Sumaila, and Ibrahim Khalil.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.