Ex-Sokoto Governor, Bafarawa, dumps APC for PDP

Former Governor Attahiru Bafarawa

The former governor was the leader of APC in Sokoto.

A former Governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa, has defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, from the All Progressives Congress, APC, his aide has said.

The Media Assistant to Mr. Bafarawa, Yusuf Dingyadi, disclosed this to the News Agency of Nigeria in Sokoto. He said the former governor decamped with his supporters.

Mr. Dingyadi, who was also the state Publicity Secretary of the Bafarawa faction of APC, said that the decision was taken on Saturday after a meeting between Mr. Bafarawa and former Kano State Governor, Ibrahim Shekarau.

The spokesperson said the meeting was also attended by the supporters of Mr. Bafarawa in the three parties that merged to form the APC.

According to Mr. Dingyadi, the leaders of the former governor’s faction of the APC were asked to go back to the 23 local government areas in the state for further consultation.

Mr. Bafarawa was a presidential aspirant of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, one of the parties that merged to form the APC.

In his reaction, the state secretary of the Governor Aliyu Wamakko-led APC, Ahmed Aliyu, said it was a welcome development.

“It is a good omen for the APC in Sokoto state and at the national level. APC will now be stronger and united.

“Bafarawa is afraid of Wamakko. He had since been working for PDP. Only his body was in APC, but his heart was already in the PDP,’’ Mr. Aliyu, who is also the Sokoto Health Commissioner, said.

Mr. Wamakko had defected to the APC from the PDP, although his deputy, Mukhtari Shagari, refused to defect.

The APC in the state had since been factionalised into two, with two separate state headquarters and different interim state caretaker leaderships.

Mr. Wamakko was one of five PDP governors that decamped to the APC. The others are Murtala Nyako of Adamawa, Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers, Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano.

The governors were made the leaders of the APC in their states, thus displacing the original APC leadership in their respective states, including Mr. Bafarawa in Sokoto and Mr. Shekarau in Kano.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.