Six governors for honour in Abuja

Babatunde Raji Fashola, Governor of Lagos State

Governors Babatunde Fashola of Lagos, Sule Lamido of Jigawa, Godswill Akpabio of Akwa-Ibom, Peter Obi of Anambra, Adams Oshiomhole of Edo,  and Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo, have been nominated for the Ezeife Leadership Foundation award for “superior performance”.

The foundation is promoted by former Anambra Governor, Chukwuemeka Ezeife.

The foundation, the founder says, espouses the principle that in a democracy, the welfare of the governed is the supreme objective and reason for governance.

In a statement, the foundation held that a governor’s re-election is a testimony of credibility.

“The re-election of a governor, whose performance in the office has been superior, is a salute to democracy, an indication of maturity of the system and especially the wisdom of the voters.

“Indeed the only way to judge superior performance is through the testimonies of the governed,” the foundation said in the statement.

The six governors will receive the award on Thursday in Abuja.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.