National Conference: How Delegates were nominated

Of the 492 delegates to participate in the conference, the president will nominate 37 who shall be elder statesmen, drawn from each of the 36 states of the federation and FCT.

Retired military and security personnel, comprising the military, police as well as the State Security Service (SSS) and National Intelligence Agency (NIA) will contribute 18 delegates.

A member from each of the three sub-groups is to be nominated by stakeholders from each of the six geopolitical zones of the federation.

Traditional rulers will be represented by 13 delegates, comprising two from each of the six geopolitical zones and one from FCT, while retired civil servants will contribute six persons, drawn from the six geopolitical zones and nominated by stakeholders.

Labour would have 24 representatives, 12 each to be nominated by the nation’s two central unions, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and Trade Union Congress (TUC). Their nominations are expected to reflect geopolitical and gender balance.

The organised private sector (OPS) will nominate eight delegates to the conference and Nigerian youth organisations will send 18 delegates who are to come from the six geopolitical zones. The nominations are to be done by the stakeholders and the federal government.

Women groups, including the National Council of Women Societies (NCWS), market women associations and National Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) will be represented by 24 delegates, drawn from the six geopolitical zones.

Christian and Muslim leaders are to be represented by 12 delegates, comprising six nominees each to stand for the two religions, while civil society groups will have 24 representations.

Other delegates are to come from Nigerians in Diaspora (eight), People Living with Disabilities (six), Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria (two), Nigeria Guild of Editors (two), Nigeria Union of Journalists (two), Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (two), socio-political/cultural and ethnic nationality groups (90), professional bodies, including Nigerian Bar Association, Nigerian Society of Engineers, Nigerian Medical Association and Nigeria Economic Society (13), and National Academies such as the Academy of Science, Academy of Engineering and Academy of Education (five).

The rest of the delegates are to be made up of representatives of the judiciary (six), former political office holders (24), Federal Government of Nigeria (20), state governments and FCT (109) and former local government area chairmen (six).

Related posts

Submit your National Conference Press Releases, Opinions, Memos, Positions and get published for Free! Submit
Hello. Add your message here.