Four ECOMOG field commanders, 2 journalists to receive posthumous awards

Mansur Dan Ali
Mansur Dan Ali

Four ECOMOG Field Commanders, and two Nigerian journalists will receive posthumous awards at the public presentation of a book, titled: The ECOMOG STORY, in Abuja on March 17.

A statement issued in Abuja on Friday by Frank Akinola on behalf of the organisers of the event, said the recipients would be honoured for their sacrifices in the Liberian civil war.

Mr. Akinola named the recipients as the late Majors General, Ishaya Bakut, Rufus Kupolati, John Inienger and Maxwel Khobe.

According to the statement, the two journalists are Krees Imodibie of the Guardian Newspaper and Tayo Awotusin of Champion Newspaper.

“The book launch will feature posthumous award to four ECOMOG field commanders whose gallantry and professionalism were chronicled in the book.

“Two Nigerian journalists who lost their lives in the Liberian civil war and to whom a complete chapter was devoted in the book will also be honoured posthumously.

“The public presentation of the book will take place at the Nigerian National Merit Award House on March 17,’’ the statement said.

He said the field commanders would be honoured with the award of Grand Commander of International Peace (Africa).

Mr. Akinola added that the two slain journalists would receive the award of Grand Master of International Peace (Africa) for their bravery and contribution to journalism.

It said that the organisers had also named Lt.-Gen. Arnold Quianoo of Ghana, Maj.-Gen. John Shagaya and Maj.-Gen. Timothy Shelpidi as other former field commanders to be given award at the event.

Mr. Akinola added that Maj.-Gen. Felix Mujakperou, Gen. Martin Agwai and Lt.-Gen. Victor Malu would be honoured at the event.

He said other field commanders whose tenures during the ECOMOG operations were covered in the book would also be recognised by the organisers.

He said the Minister of Defence, retired Brig.-Gen. Mansur Dan-Ali, would grace the occasion as chief host while the Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Defence, Betara Aliyu, would be the Chairman.

The organisers said former President, Olusegun Obasanjo would be Special Guest of Honour while General Theophilus Danjuma would be the Chief launcher. (NAN)

Coronavirus factsheet


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.