Eddie Ugbomah, Joke Silva honoured with Movie Rock of Fame Award

Joke Silva
Joke Silva

Late Nigerian movie legend Eddie Ugbomah and other practising professionals, including veteran actress Joke Silva, have been honoured with the Movie Rock of Fame Award of the Nigerian film industry.

They were recognised on Friday night at the closing ceremony and award night of the 2019 edition of the annual ZUMA Film Festival (ZUFF) in Abuja, according to the News Agency of Nigeria.

Ugbomah, known for his 1979 classic `The Rise and Fall of Oyenusi’, was posthumously honoured with a Rock of Fame Award for his contribution to the growth of Nigeria’s film industry.

Silva and Alex Eyengho, award-winning filmmaker and actor, as well as other living and practising professionals, were honoured with Life-Time Achievement Award.

Other eminent Nigerians honoured included FCT Minister, Muhammad Bello; Chief of Defence Staff, Abayomi Olanisakin; and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele, among others.

The Managing Director, Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC), Chidia Maduekwe, who was Chairman of the festival organising committee, described the honour bestowed on the thespians and stakeholders as “well-deserved”.

READ ALSO: National Assembly to give ‘accelerated hearing’ to NDIC Amendment Act – Senate President

According to him, the recipients – living and dead – have contributed to the exponential growth of the Nigerian movie industry, popularly known as Nollywood.

“This is our modest attempt at appreciating the enormous contributions of these film practitioners in the Nigeria film industry and their achievements thereof.

“The labour of love and commitment to Nigeria’s development of our industry geniuses shall continually be recognised and rewarded,” he said.

NAN reports that the Nigerian Film Society Rock of Fame Award, now in its third year of introduction, is the highest professional recognition within the Nigeria film industry based solely on merit.

Some of the recipients of the maiden edition in 2017 included late thespians Sam Loco-Efe, James Iroha, popularly known as ‘Giringori Akabogu’ and Adeyemi Afolayan, a.k.a Ade Love, father of veteran movie director Kunle Afolayan.

Other past recipients include Ola Balogun,Sadiq Daba, Abdulkaraem Muhammed, Brenda Shehu and Femi Shaka, Professor of Film Studies, as well as Hyginus Ekwuazi, former Managing Director of NFC.


Coronavirus factsheet


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


TEXT AD: To advertise here . Call Willie +2347088095401...

BE THE FIRST TO KNOW! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.