‘The Meeting’, ‘October 1’ shine at AMVCA

Script writer, Tunde Babalola, emerged biggest winner at the just concluded Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards, AMVCA, which held on Saturday at the Expo hall of the Eko hotel and suites, Lagos.

 Tunde won ‘Best Comedy Writer’ for ‘The meeting’ and ‘Best Drama Writer’ for ‘October 1’.

The movies October 1 and The Meeting won a total of 14 awards on the night. 

‘October 1’ was produced by Kunle Afolayan while ‘The meeting’ was produced by Mildred Okwo and Rita Dominic. 
October 1, which had 13 nominations won nine awards including Best Director (Kunle Afolayan) and Best Actress in a Drama’ (Kehinde Bankole). It also won the awards for ‘Best Costume Designer’ (Deola Sagoe), ‘Best Lighting Designer’ (Lanre Omofaye), ‘Best Make-Up Artist’ (Lola Maja), ‘Best Sound Editing’ (Kulanen Ikyo), and Best Art Director. 

‘The Meeting’ won five awards including Best Actor in a Comedy (Femi Jacobs) and Best Actress in a Comedy (Rita Dominic). It also won ‘Best Supporting Actress’ (Linda Ejiofor), and Best Movie (Comedy).
The ceremony witnessed a large turnout of celebrities and movie connoisseurs from around the continent.

Yoruba movie actress, Faithia Balogun, who has been having an impressive run with her roles in movies in recent times, won Best Local Language Yoruba for her role in ‘Iya Alalake’ just as MTV sponsored HIV/AIDS awareness series, Shuga, emerged ‘Best Television Series’.
See Full list of winners:

 1. Best Actor in a Comedy: Femi Jacobs for The Meeting

 2. Best Actress in a Comedy: Rita Dominic for The Meeting

 3. Best Actor in a Drama: OC Ukeje for Confusion Na Wa

 4. Best Actress in a Drama: Kehinde Bankole for October 1

 5. Best Art Director (Movie/ TV): Pat Nebo for October 1

 6. Best Cinematographer (Movie/ TV): Stanlee Ohikhuare for Verdict

 7. Best Comedy Writer (Movie/ TV): Tunde Babalola for The Meeting

 8. Best Costume Designer (Movie/ TV): Deola Sagoe & Obijie Oru for October 1

 9. Best Documentary: Yvonne Bassey for The Gift of The Nile

 10. Best Drama Writer (Movie/ TV): Tunde Babalola for October 1

 11. Best Lighting Designer: Lanre Omofaiye for October 1

 12. Best Local Language Hausa: Hafizu Bello & Abubakar Bashir for Bincike

 13. Best Local Language Igbo: Obi Emelonye for Onye Ozi (The Messenger)

 14. Best Local Language Swahili:
Sarika Hemi Lakhani for Veve

 15. Best Local Language Yoruba: Fathia Balogun for Iya Alalake

16. Best Make: Up Artist: Sacred Lola Maja for October 1

17. Best Movie (Comedy): Mildred Okwo & Rita Dominic for The Meeting

18. Best Movie (Drama): Steve Gukas for A Place in The Stars

19. Best Movie Director: Kunle Afolayan for October 1

20. Best New Media – Online: Imoh Umoren For Hard Times

21. Best Movie of 2014: Kunle Afolayan for October 1

22. Best Short Film: Ekene Mekwunye for Oblivious

23. Best Sound Editing: Kulanen Ikyo for October 1

24. Best Video Editor: Victoria Akujobi for Reflections

25. Best Supporting Actress: Linda Ejiofor for The Meeting

26. Best Supporting Actor: Blossom Chukwujekwu for Knocking on Heavens Door

27. Best Television Series: Georgia Arnold for Shuga.

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.