Patoranking, Davido, Olamide emerge biggest winners at Headies

Photo Credits:

Budding dancehall artiste, Patoranking, emerged the star of the night at the 2014 edition of the Headies Awards which took place at Eko Hotel and Suites on Sunday, December 14, 2014.

Patoranking, who became well-known in 2014, won three awards: Best Collabo alongside WizzyPro, Skales and Runtown on the hit, Emergency, Best Reggae /Dancehall for his hit, Girlie O, and his biggest award of the night, the Next Rated award.

While receiving his Next Rated award, Patoranking talked about his climb to success, and how he once sold “rat killer” and was a bricklayer.

‎”Shey una go believe if I tell you say I don sell rat killer before?” he asked. “Shey una go believe if I tell you say I don do bricklayer before? Abeg, hold on to your dreams and ignore those who think u can’t make it.”

Davido won the Song of the Year for Aye, and Artiste of the Year, while Olamide took home two Headies for Best Rap Album, and Album of the Year.

Mavin Records act, Reekado Banks won the Rookie of the Year while the label won Best Pop Single for DoroBucci. The label’s head, producer, Don Jazzy, retained his crown as Nigeria’s Best Music Producer.

Pop duo, Psquare, whose performance ended the show were honoured with the Headies Awards Special Recognition award for their contribution to the music industry.

See full winners list below:

Best R&B Single – Let Somebody Love You by 2face Idibia.

Best Pop Single – Dorobucci by The Mavins

Best Rap Single – Parcel by Phyno

Best Street Hop – Double Wahala by Oritsefemi

Best Vocal Performance (Male) – Iyawo Mi by Timi Dakolo

Best R&B/Pop Album – The Journey by Sean Tizzle

Best Vocal Performance (Female) – Love To Love You by Niyola.

Best Rap Album – Baddest Guy Ever Liveth by Olamide.

Best Reggae/Dancehall – Girlie O by Patoranking

Best Collabo – Emergency byWizzyPro featuring Skales,Runtown and Patoranking

Best Recording of the Year – Ordinary People by Cobhams Asuquo

Best Alternative Song – Bolaji byBOJ.

Producer of the Year – Don Jazzy

Lyricist on the Roll – Jesse Jagz

Next Rated – Patoranking

Hall of Fame – Sir Victor Uwaifo

African Artiste of the Year -Sarkodie

Rookie of the Year – Reekado Banks

Best Music Video – Ada Ada (Flavour) by Clarence Peters

Song of the Year – Aye by Davido

Album of the Year – Baddest Guy Ever Liveth by Olamide.

Artiste of the Year– Davido.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: New Discovery! Click Here To See A Miracle Device That Can Cure DIABETES, BLOOD PRESSURE, STROKE, ARTHRITIS, PAINS, OBESITY And 50 Other CHRONIC DISEASES Without Drugs Or Herbs.. Click Here Now To See It

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.