Flower Girl wins big at Nollywood Movie Awards

The 3rd edition of the Nollywood Movie Awards held on Saturday at the Intercontinental Hotel, Lagos.

The top winner of the night was Flower Girl, which had nine nominations. The movie, produced and directed by Michelle Bello, won Best Set Design, Best Soundtrack, Best Sound Design and Best Editing.

The Best Lead Actress went to Ireti Doyle in Torn; Best Lead Actor was Mike Ezuronye for Unforgivable, while Best Movie was A Mile from Home.

Other winners were Emem Udonquak – Best Supporting Actress, Lucky Ejim – Best Supporting Actor and Kenneth Gyang – Best Director.

A posthumous Humanitarian Award was bestowed on Stella Adadevoh, the doctor who treated the Liberian-American, Patrick Stewart that brought the disease to Nigeria.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tunde Kelani by veteran actress, Taiwo Ajai-Lycett.

Mrs. Akai-Lycett, who collected the Best TV Series award on behalf of the cast and crew of Tinsel, a soap opera in which she stars, noted that it was the first award she was receiving in Nigeria. Mrs. Ajai-Lycett is known for her performance on British Television.

The event was anchored by Dakore Egbuson, Derenle Edun, Uru Eke and Gideon Okeke. Other attendees included Kunle Afolayan, Julius Agwu, Teco Benson, Wale Macaulay, Demola Adedoyin, Lala Akindoju, OC Ukeje, and British Actor, Chucky Venn, among other.

The full list of winners and nominees:

Best Movie


nlng Campaign AD

Winner: A Mile From Home

Confusion Na Wa

I toro

Make a Move



Flower Girl

Brother’s Keeper

Best Lead Male

OC Ukeje – Confusion Na Wa

Tope Tedela – A Mile From Home

Kalu Ikeagwu – False

Winner: Mike Ezuruonye – Unforgivable

Blossom Chukwujekwu – Finding Mercy

Frederick Leonard – The Accident

Gbenga Akinnagbe – Render to Caesar

Yul Edochie – Chioma the Weeping Queen

Best Lead Female

Nse Ikpe-Etim Sule – I Come Lagos

Winner: Ireti Doyle- Torn

Chioma Akpotha – The Accident

Mercy Johnson – Hustlers

Dayo Amusa – Unforgivable

Joke Silva – The Visitor

Uche Jombo Rodriguez – False

Damilola Adegbite – Flower Girl

Best Actor (Supporting Role)

Ikponmwosa Gold – Confusion Na Wa

Keppy Ekpeyong-Bassey – Itoro

Wale Adebayo – Make a Move

Winner: Lucky Ejim – Render to Caesar 

Wale Macaulay – The Accident

Best Actress (Supporting Role)

Winner: Emem Udonquak – Itoro

Abiola Segun-Williams – Finding Mercy

Clarion Chukwura Abiola – Hustlers

Ebele Okaro Onyiuke – Leave My Tears

Bikiya Graham-Douglas – Flower Girl

Best Actor Indigenous

Okey Bakassi (Onye Ozi)

Bayo Alawiye (Atanda)

Odunlade Adekola (Mufu Olooha)

Winner- Afeez Eniola (Alakada)

Best Actress Indigenous

Queen Nwokoye (Ada Mbano)

Ngozi Igwebike (Onye Ozi)

Winner: Dayo Amusa (Unforgivable)

Toyin Aimakhu Johnson (Alakada )

Rita Edward – Misfit

Best Movie Indigenous


Winner – Onyi Ozi


Ada Mbano



Best Director

A mile from home – Eric Aghimien

Itoro – Moses Inwang

False – Ike Nnaebue

Winner: Confusion Na Wa – Kenneth Gyang 

Flower Girl – Michelle Bello

Torn – Moses Inwang

Render to Caesar – Desmond Ovbiagele

Unforgivable – Desmond Elliot

Best Editing

Render to Caesar – Steve Sodiya

False – Ike Nnaebue

Itoro – Moses Inwang

Brother’s keeper – Okey Benson and Okey Oku

Winner: Flower Girl – Kunle Laguda

The Accident – Teco Benson

Best Sound Design

Secret Room – Maurice Kings

Winner: Flower Girl –Kunle Laguda

Kidnap – Not specified

Render to Caesar – Michael Ogunlade

Best Cinematography

Render to Caesar – Johnny Askwith

A Mile From Home – Eric Aghimien

False – Joseph Oladunjoye

Misplaced – Tom Robson/ Dickson Godwin

Winner: Confusion Na Wa – Yinka Edward

Flower Girl – James Costello

Best Screenplay

A Mile From Home – Not specified

False – Ike Nnaebue/ Foluke Amanfo

Winner: Render to Caesar – Desmond Ovbiagele

Finding Mercy – Kehinde Olorunyomi-Odukoya

Accident – Tai Obasi

Unforgivable – Jovi Babs & Olamilekan Daniels

Best Costume Design

False – Ngozi Jombo (Divas and Divos)

After The Proposal – Ngozi Jombo

Winner: The Village Boy I love – Ogoo Okechi and Doris Kalu

A Mile From Home – Godwin Aghimien

Best Make Up

A Mile From Home – Not specified

Brother’s keeper – Mathew Alechenu

False – Chichi Okafor (Faceville)

Winner: Honeymoon Hotel – Madeline Viijeon/Geordi Binstend/Kirsty Williams/ Israel Moses

Unforgivable – Abiolah Makeup world

Best Set Design

A Mile From Home – Eric Aghimien and Biodun Olagbaju

Dream walker – Not specified

False – Ujay Studio

Itoro – Not specified

Winner: Flower Girl – Derick Nwa-Jesus (props)

Best Soundtrack

Winner: Flower Girl – Efya (Best in me)

A Mile From Home – Vincent Umukoro

False – Don L37

Render to Caesar – Michael Ogunlade and Seun Owoaje

Atanda – Celestine Adeeko Owolabi

Unforgivable – Izuchukwu Anozie Vincent

Best Diaspora Movie

Winner: Onyi Ozi


Shameful Deceit

Best Short Movie

Winner: Brave

Date Gone Bad


Not Right

New Horizon

Kabu Kabu

Best Rising Star, Male

Winner: Tope Tedela

Blossom Chuks Chukwujekwu

Okey Uzoeshi

Alex Ekubo

Lucky Ejim (Render to Caesar)

Shawn Faqua

Best Rising Star, Female

Lilian Esoro

Lala Akindoju

Daniella Okeke

Tamara Eteimo

Dabota Lawson

Emem Uduquak

Winner: Ivie Okujaye

Best Child Actor

Winner: Onyindamola Lapejo (Finding Mercy)

Helger Sosthenes (Make a Move)


Titilayo Shobo (Unforgivable)



Popular Choice Awards

Popular Choice Female- Mercy Johnson

Popular Choice Male- Odulade Adekola

Top Box Office movie- The Weekend Getaway

Best TV/Web series


Humanitarian Award

Dr. Stella Ameyo-Adadewoh 


PT Mag Campaign AD

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.