Kenya’s Lupita Nyong’o wins Oscar for Best Supporting Actress

12 Years a Slave won Best Picture

Kenyan actress, Lupita Nyong’o, on Sunday won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress for her role in 12 Years A Slave.

The 30 year-old style icon and breakout star, who previously won the Screen Actors Guild Awards, was congratulated by Kenya President, Uhuru Kenyatta, via Twitter.


Accepting her award, Nyong’o paid tribute to her character, Patsey, a slave in 1840s Louisiana.

“It doesn’t escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is because of so much pain in someone else’s,” she said.

Also nominated for an Academy Award, also called Oscar, was British actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, for 12 Years A Slave. The critically acclaimed movie about a free man, Solomon Northup, who became a slave for 12 years before being rescued by friends, took home the Oscar for Best Picture.

The Best Actor statuette went to Mathew McConaghuey for Dallas Buyers Club while Australian Cate Blanchette won Best Actress for Blue Jasmine. Jared Leto won Best Supporting Actor for his role as a transgendered AIDS victim in Dallas Buyers Club. Best Director went to Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity. Gravity which starred Sandra Bullock and George Clooney got the highest number of awards – seven; including original score, visual effects, sound mixing and sound editing, cinematography, film editing.

The awards ceremony was hosted by talk show host, Ellen Degeneres, who set a social media record with a celebrity-filled selfie that was retweeted over 1 million times. It beat the previous record – over 800, 000 set by Barack Obama’s Four more years.

Full list of winners below

Best Picture

“12 Years a Slave” –Winner
“American Hustle”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”
“Dallas Buyers Club”
“Captain Phillips”

Best Actor

Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyer’s Club” – Winner
Christian Bale, “American Hustle”
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”
Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Wolf of Wall Street”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” – Winner
Amy Adams, “American Hustle”
Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”
Judi Dench, “Philomena”
Meryl Streep, “August: Osage County”
Fast fact: This is Cate Blanchett’s first Best

Best Supporting Actor

Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyer’s Club” – Winner
Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips”
Bradley Cooper, “American Hustle”
Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”
Jonah Hill, “The Wolf of Wall Street”
Fast fact: This is Jared Leto’s first Oscar nomination and win.

Best Supporting Actress

Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” – Winner
Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”
Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”
Julia Roberts, “August: Osage County”
June Squibb, “Nebraska”
Fast fact: This is Lupita Nyong’o’s first Academy Award nomination and win.

Best Director

Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity” – Winner
David O. Russell, “American Hustle”
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”
Alexander Payne, “Nebraska”
Martin Scorsese, “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Original Screenplay

Spike Jonze, “Her” – Winner
“American Hustle”
“Blue Jasmine”
“Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Adapted Screenplay

John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave” – Winner
“Before Midnight”
“Captain Phillips”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”
Fast fact: This is John Ridley’s first Academy Award.

Best Original Song

“Let It Go” from “Frozen,” Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez – Winner
“The Moon Song” from “Her,” Karen O. and Spike Jonze
“Ordinary Love” from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom,” U2 (Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton, and Larry Mullen Jr.) and Danger Mouse (Brian Burton)
“Happy” from “Despicable Me 2,” Pharrell Williams

Best Original Score

Steven Price, “Gravity” – Winner
Alexandre Desplat, “Philomena”
William Butler and Owen Pallett, “Her”
John Williams, “The Book Thief”
Thomas Newman, “Saving Mr. Banks”

Best Production Design

Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn, “The Great Gatsby” – Winner
“American Hustle”
“12 Years a Slave”

Best Film Editing

Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger, “Gravity” – Winner
“12 Years a Slave”
“Captain Phillips”
“American Hustle”
“Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity” – Winner
“The Grandmaster”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”

Best Sound Editing

Glen Freemantle, “Gravity” – Winner
“Captain Phillips”
“All Is Lost”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Lone Survivor”

Best Sound Mixing

Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro, “Gravity” – Winner
“Captain Phillips”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Lone Survivor”

Best Foreign Language Film

“The Great Beauty” – Winner
“The Broken Circle Breakdown”
“The Hunt”
“The Missing Picture”

Best Documentary Feature

“20 Feet From Stardom” – Winner
“The Act of Killing”
“Cutie and the Boxer”
“Dirty Wars”
“The Square”

Best Documentary Short Subject

“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” – Winner
“Facing Fear”
“Karama Has No Walls”
“Prison Terminal: Last Days of Private Jack Hall”

Best Live Action Short Film

“Helium” – Winner
“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)”
“Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)”
“Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)”
“The Voorman Problem”

Best Visual Effects

Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould, “Gravity” – Winner
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Iron Man 3”
“The Lone Ranger”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Best Animated Feature

“Frozen” – Winner
“The Croods”
“Despicable Me 2”
“Ernest and Celestine”
“The Wind Rises”

Best Animated Short Film

“Mr. Hublot” – Winner
“Get a Horse!”
“Room on the Broom”

Best Makeup And Hairstyling

“Dallas Buyers Club” – Winner
“Bad Grandpa”
“The Lone Ranger”

Best Costume Design

Catherine Martin, “The Great Gatsby” – Winner
“The Grandmaster”
“American Hustle”
“The Invisible Woman”
“12 Years a Slave”

NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: To place a text-based advert here. Call Willie - +2347088095401

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.