Chiwetel Ejiofor nominated at British Academy Film Awards

Chiwetel Ejiofor... Picture Credits: gigismeanderings

Nigerian –British actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Kenyan actress, Lupita Nyong’s, have been nominated at the 2014 EE British Academy Film Awards.

Nigerian – British actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor, and Kenyan actress, Lupita Nyong’o, have been nominated for their role in ’12 Years a Slave’ at the 2014 EE British Academy Film Awards.

Chiwetel is up for the ‘Best Actor’ category, while Lupita was nominated for ‘Best Supporting Actress’ and ‘Rising Star’ categories.

Also, the director of the movie, 12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen also got nominated in the Best Director category.

Check out the full list of nominees:

Best Film

12 Years a Slave – Anthony Katagas, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen

American Hustle – Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, Jonathan Gordon

Captain Phillips – Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca

Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman

Philomena – Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan, Tracey Seaward

Outstanding British Film


Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom



Saving Mr Banks

The Selfish Giant

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Colin Carberry, Glenn Patterson – Good Vibrations

Kelly Marcel – Saving Mr Banks

Kieran Evans – Kelly + Victor

Paul Wright, Polly Stokes – For Those in Peril

Scott Graham – Shell

Film Not in the English Language

The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen

Blue is the Warmest Colour – Abdellatif Kechiche, Brahim Chioua, Vincent Maraval

The Great Beauty – Paolo Sorrentino, Nicola Giuliano, Francesca Cima

Metro Manila – Sean Ellis, Mathilde Charpentier

Wadjda – Haifaa Al-Mansour, Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul


The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer

The Armstrong Lie – Alex Gibney

Blackfish – Gabriela Cowperthwaite

Tim’s Vermeer – Teller, Penn Jillette, Farley Ziegler

We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks – Alex Gibney

Animated Film

Despicable Me 2 – Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin

Frozen – Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee

Monsters University – Dan Scanlon

Original Screenplay

American Hustle – Eric Warren Singer, David O Russell

Blue Jasmine – Woody Allen

Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron, Jonas Cuaron

Inside Llewyn Davis – Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Nebraska – Bob Nelson

Adapted Screenplay

12 Years a Slave – John Ridley

Behind the Candelabra – Richard LaGravenese

Captain Phillips – Billy Ray

Philomena – Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope

The Wolf of Wall Street – Terence Winter


Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave

David O Russell – American Hustle

Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips

Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity

Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Leading Actor

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Leading Actress

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Judi Dench – Philomena

Emma Thompson – Saving Mr Banks

Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Daniel Bruhl – Rush

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Matt Damon – Behind the Candelabra

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Supporting Actress

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

Original Music

12 Years a Slave – Hans Zimmer

The Book Thief – John Williams

Captain Phillips – Henry Jackman

Gravity – Steven Price

Saving Mr Banks – Thomas Newman


12 Years a Slave – Sean Bobbitt

Captain Phillips – Barry Ackroyd

Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki

Inside Llewyn Davis – Bruno Delbonnel

Nebraska – Phedon Papamichael


12 Years a Slave – Joe Walker

Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse

Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger

Rush – Dan Hanley, Mike Hill

The Wolf of Wall Street – Thelma Schoonmaker

Production Design

12 Years a Slave – Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker

American Hustle – Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler

Behind The Candelabra – Howard Cummings

Gravity – Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn

Costume Design

American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson

Behind the Candelabra – Ellen Mirojnick

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin

The Invisible Woman – Michael O’Connor

Saving Mr Banks – Daniel Orlandi

Make Up & Hair

American Hustle – Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell

Behind The Candelabra – Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin

The Butler – Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor, Candace Neal

The Great Gatsby – Maurizio Silvi, Kerry Warn

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Peter Swords King, Richard

Taylor, Rick Findlater


All is Lost – Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg, Gillian Arthur

Captain Phillips – Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro, Oliver Tarney

Gravity – Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri, Chris Munro

Inside Llewyn Davis – Peter F. Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff

Rush – Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler, Frank Kruse

EE Rising Star Award

Dane DeHaan

George Mackay

Lupita Nyong’o

Will Poulter

Léa Seydoux

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility


Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.