NLNG Announces Three Final Contenders For $100,000 Prize For Literature

Tade Ipadeola, Amu Nnadi and Promise Ogochukwu have being announced as the final shortlist for the 2013 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Literature sponsored by Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited.

The final three writers made it out of 11 writers initially released in August and the final shortlist was approved by the Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, a statement by NLNG confirmed.

Tade Ipadeola’s The Sahara Testaments, Amu Nnadi’s Through the window of a sandcastle and Promise Ogochukwu’s Wild Letters are the books contending for the biggest prize for literature in Africa.

The eventual winner of the prize will be announced at a World Press Conference on 9th October, 2013.

Who are the poets?

Poet and Lawyer, Tade Ipadeola, lives in Ibadan, where he writes and practices law. He has authored three volumes of poetry along with other published short stories and essays. He is the current President of PEN International, Nigeria Centre, an organization which promotes literature and advocates freedom of expression.

Amu Nnadi is the author of the fire within and pilgrim’s passage, two volumes of poetry well received in Nigeria. His debut volume of poetry, the fire within, won the maiden edition of ANA/NDDC Gabriel Okara Prize for Poetry. Amu Nnadi, who writes poetry without punctuation and capital letters and publishes without any personal data and name, lives in Port Harcourt and currently works at the Niger Delta Development Commission.

Armed with a PhD in Communication and Language Arts from the University of Ibadan, Ogochukwu Promise has published several literary works including novels, children’s literature, short stories, drama, poetry and essays. In 2005, Ogochukwu was on the shortlist of three for The Nigeria Prize for Literature with her volume of poetry, Naked Among These Hills. Ogochukwu lives in Lagos, where she is actively involved in various charity programmes and activities.


wits Advert

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara for his volume of poetry The Dreamer, His Vision (co-winner 2004 – poetry); Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto, for his volume of poetry Chants of a Minstrel (co-winner 2004 poetry); Ahmed Yerima (2005 – drama) for his book Hard Ground; Mabel Segun (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre; Prof. Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner 2007 – children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Kaine Agary (2008 – prose) for her novel Yellow Yellow; Esiaba Irobi (2010 – drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road; Adeleke Adeyemi (2011 – children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock and Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sisters’ Street.

The prize rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. The 2013 prize is for poetry and comes with a cash prize of $100,000. Next year is drama. A total of 201 books were submitted this year for the prize.

Support PREMIUM TIMES' journalism of integrity and credibility

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can ensure the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy, and a transparent government.

For continued free access to the best investigative journalism in the country we ask you to consider making a modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to all.


NEVER MISS A THING AGAIN! Subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required


Now available on

  Premium Times Android mobile applicationPremium Times iOS mobile applicationPremium Times blackberry mobile applicationPremium Times windows mobile application

TEXT AD: This space is available for a Text_Ad.. Call Willie on +2347088095401 for more information

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.