Olympians Oduduru, Erayokan top participation list of Lagos sprint event


The stage is now set for the Top Sprinter 2016 competition billed to take place from September 29 to October 1 at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos.

Olympians Divine Oduduru and Orukpe Erayokan will join over 450 athletes from across Nigeria for the Track & Field fiesta.

Aside the duo of Oduduru and Erayokan who will headline the three-day event, several other athletes who represented Team Nigeria at the African and World Junior Championships this year will be in Lagos for the 2016 competition.

The organisers of the event, Making of Champions Ltd, are bringing together the past, present and future stars of Nigerian athletics.

The competition will feature 3 age categories at the same competition – Youth (U17), Junior (U20), Senior (20 & over) will compete on the same track within minutes of each other.

Nigeria’s Independence Day on October 1 is expected to bring the 3-day event to an exciting climax.

Many races are being eagerly awaited like the 4x100m relays that will take place on the final day.

There will also be a Masters’ 100m race, which will see Olympic Medallists Deji Aliu and Uchenna Emedolu go head-to-head and re-ignite their rivalry from yesteryears.

The two are among only eight Nigerians who have ever run the 100m in less than 10 seconds.

The ladies will not be left out of it, with 2015 National 200m Champion, Praise Idamadudu, and African Championship & World Junior athletes such as Yinka Ajayi, Mercy Ntia-Obong and Blessing Adiakerehwa all confirmed to compete in the various women’s sprint events.

With the Junior and Youth athletes also competing across the full range of Track & Field events, Top Sprinter 2016 is set to be a massive post-Olympics celebration of Nigerian Athletics.

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.