Thursday, April 24, 2014

Pienaar absent as South Africa names AFCON 2013 squad.


Bafana Bafana of South Africa [Photo:]

South Africa has named its squad that will challenge for the African Nations Cup trophy in January next year.

The competition is being hosted in South Africa.

A major omission from the list is Everton of England playmaker, Steve Pienaar, who announced his retirement from international football in October.

The Coach of the Bafana Bafana, Gordon Igesund, listed the 23-man squad on Sunday in South Africa. He described the invited players as “an exciting collection of young players.”

“It is a dream side that I believe can do us justice at the tournament,” said Igesund.

Some of the prominent players left out of the squad include Thanduyise Khuboni, Teko Modise, Andile Jali, Daine Klate, Sifiso Myeni and Delron Buckley.

“No matter how much we try, we can’t please all the people in the selection process but I believe we have chosen the best that will represent this country well in AFCON 2013.

“However, those players who are not in the squad should not despair as they are all on stand-by in case of injuries,” the coach said.

The captain of the team will be the defender, Bongani Khumalo.


Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Siboniso Gaxa (Kaizer Chiefs), Bongani Khumalo (PAOK Salonika, Greece), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk, Belgium), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace, England), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic, England), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg, Sweden), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates), Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Lehlohonolo Majoro (Kaizer Chiefs), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tokelo Rantie (Malmo FF, Sweden), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs).

The South African team are in Group A of the tournament.

GTBank SME MarketHub campaign