Thursday, April 24, 2014

Maigari inaugurates Nigeria Premier League Management Committee



The Nigerian League management team was inaugurated in Abuja.
The President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Aminu Maigari, on Thursday in Abuja inaugurated the 2012/2013 Premier League Management Committee, charging the committee to strive to “quickly and
conclusively” resolve all lingering issues in the Premier League before the commencement of the 2012/2013 League season.

Mr. Maigari said the task ahead of the committee was large as the “management of the top tier of the domestic League of any country has serious consequences for that nation’s football.

“None of the National Teams can be said to have been composed without players from the domestic League, and even those who play overseas start from the home front,” the chairman said, while commending the members for accepting to serve the nation.

He said each member of the 2012/2013 Premier League Management Committee has been carefully chosen, based on quality of experience, broad-mindedness, capacity, proven ability, painstaking virtues, love of the game, diligence and dedication.

“Importantly, let me add that whatever issues have to sorted out must be done in line with rules and regulations, equity and good conscience. The nation is bigger than any single individual or
corporate body, and it is the interest of the nation that we are talking about here,” he said.

In his response, Chairman of the Committee, Nduka Irabor, said it was an honour to be called to serve the nation. He pledged that the members would do their best to redress all issues hindering the development of the Premier League.

The 13-member committee has six terms of reference which are to: organise the 2012/2013 League; review all contractual obligations of the NPL, including TV and Sponsorship rights; develop strategy and facilitate the reform of the League towards achieving profitability; review existing rules and guidelines for the election into NPL Board; develop new standards for players’ contracts and welfare; and any other relevant matter(s) the Committee may deem necessary.

The 13 members of the committee are:

1.Nduka Irabor-Chairman
2.Sabo Babayaro-Vice Chairman
3.Salisu Abubakar-Member
4.Modele Sarafa-Yusuf-Member
5.Mike Enahoro-Member
6.Kunle Elebute-Member
7.Shehu Dikko-Member
8.Nwankwo Kanu-Member
9.Ifeanyi Dike-Member
10. Seyi Akinwunmi-Member
11. Abubakar Nuhu Dan Buran-Member
12. Mike Idoko-Member
13. Tunji Babalola-Secretary

GTBank SME MarketHub campaign