APC inaugurates Gombe caretaker committee

John Odigie-Oyegun, APC Chairman
John Odigie-Oyegun, APC Chairman

The National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, on Friday inaugurated the newly-appointed Caretaker Officers for the Gombe State Chapter of the Party.

The inaugurated Caretaker Officers are: Lawan Shetima – State Chairman; Bala Jibrin – State Deputy Chairman; Sule Yakubu – State Secretary and Joseph William – Legal Adviser.

The Caretaker Officers will serve for a three-month renewable period.

APC Deputy National Chairman, North, Lawal Shuaibu, who inaugurated the Caretaker Officers on behalf of the NWC, urged the appointees to provide good leadership for the APC in Gombe.

Mr. Shuaibu also asked them to “take stock of all officers of the Party to ensure they are in tandem with the outcome of the Nationwide Congresses held in 2014, except those that resigned or relieved of the offices, using the authentic list given to you by the National Secretariat”.

He also asked them to ensure the streamlining of all parallel offices and shutting down of illegal party offices that exist at ward, local government and even at state levels and reinstall what the party has in its records at the National Secretariat.

He also called on them to consult widely with top leaders of the party, but to also only obtain “meaningful advice for a way forward which, in the opinion of the Committee, will improve the fortunes of the Party and restore peace and unity”.

Mr. Shuaibu also directed the caretaker committee to submit monthly reports to and receive directives from the National Secretariat of the APC.

The APC had said that arising from the irreconcilable differences in the top hierarchy of the Gombe State Chapter of the Party which led to its factionalisation, its NWC accepted the resignation of Karu Ishaya and Sallau Pindiga as State Deputy Chairman and State Secretary respectively.

The NWC also relieved Muhammad Doho and Dauda Manu as State Chairman and State Legal Adviser respectively.

Apart from Mr. Shuaibu, other NWC members present at the inauguration include the National Secretary, Mai Mala Buni; National Auditor, George Moghalu and National Youth Leader, Ibrahim Jalo.

Also present are other top members of the party from Gombe state including former Governor and current Senator, Danjuma Goje; Minister of Environment, Amina Mohammed.

All rights reserved. This material and any other material on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from PREMIUM TIMES.