Update: Okorocha moves 7 commissioners, merges ministries


The Governor of Imo State has reshuffled his cabinet.

Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo has moved seven commissioners and merged some ministries.

The changes were contained in a statement issued in Owerri on Thursday by Chinedu Offor at the end of the State Executive Council meeting. According to the Governor, the changes are to ensure enhanced service delivery in the state.

Mr. Offor, who was the former Commissioner for Information and Strategy is the new Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism.

Ugochi Nnanna-Okoro, the former Commissioner for Culture and Tourism will now serve as the Commissioner for Community Government.

The former Commissioner for Economic Planning, Nic Opara-Ndudu, has been moved to the Ministry of Works and Transport.

The statement added that the Deputy Governor of the state, Jude Agbaso, ceased to double as commissioner for works, with the reshuffle.

It further disclosed that Uche Nwosu, former Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Planning, had been named the new Commissioner for Lands and Housing.

Chima Iwuchukwu, formerly of Community Government takes charge of Planning while Charles Onuoha, former Commissioner for Housing, has been moved to the Ministry for Special Duties.

The statement also named Iheanyi Nwachukwu, former Commissioner for Special Duties as the new Commissioner for Public Utilities, Public Safety and Youth Empowerment.

The commissioners who retained their portfolios are Adaobi Obasi (Education), Obi Njoku (Health), Adaora Ijezie and Soronnadi Njoku (Justice).

Others are those of Finance, and Environment.