Thursday, April 24, 2014

Wole Soyinka Investigative Reporters award to hold in Abeokuta


Prof Wole Soyinka

The award ceremony will hold on December 8.

The annual Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting, meant to honour outstanding investigative journalists, will hold on Sunday, December 9.

The organisers, in a statement, said the Judge’s board chaired by the Dean, Lagos State University School of Communication, Professor Lai Eso,  decided on “6 winning works, 6 runners-up and 4 commendations after three weeks of assessment and a one-day scores collation session held on Tuesday 27 November in Lagos.”

The winners, runners-up and commended works will be announced at a public award presentation ceremony to be held at the Hubert Ogunde Hall of the Cultural Centre in Kuto, Abeokuta, Ogun State, from 2-5p.m.

The Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, is expected to be the Chief Host.

The winners, according to the organisers, are journalists whom the board have adjudged to demonstrate journalistic courage, individual creativity and public benefit in their report on public or corporate corruption, human rights violation, and or, the failure of regulatory agencies.

The WSCIJ-Nigeria Investigative Journalist of the Year 2012, which is the merit prize for the best outstanding work across all the categories, will also be awarded at the event.

The finalists will go home with the prestigious award plaque, cash and kind prizes and certificates of commendation.

Admittance to the event is open to members of the public.

GTBank SME MarketHub campaign